CISO Award Nomination Form

Submission deadline: January 15, 2023

The CISO Award recognizes those with a high degree of commitment to promoting good security practices at a senior level. This person demonstrates top management commitment to information security, a sensitivity to their own stakeholder needs, sound risk management practices, and continuous improvement.


All CIOCAN members in good standing (at the National, Chapter or Division level) are eligible for this award.

Selection Criteria

  • TOP MANAGEMENT SUPPORT: The organization has demonstrated top management commitment by appointing a CISO role and implementing an information security program that is aligned with strategy, embedded in policy and business practice, staffed appropriately, communicated within the organization, and meeting its objectives.
  • RISK-FOCUSED ORIENTATION: The organization has demonstrated risk based planning and operational processes around information security that is supported by well integrated risk assessments and approved risk treatment plans within organizational tolerance to manage undesired events and safely accept risk where appropriate.
  • CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT BEHAVIOURS: The organization has demonstrated regular review and evaluation of their information security program to ensure ongoing efficiency, effectiveness, and satisfaction for stakeholders.

Nominations in consideration of the selection criteria will be reviewed. The CIOCAN Board of Directors will have final approval on the recommendation. In the event that no nominee meets the criteria, no award will be presented.


The 2023 CIOCAN Impact Awards will be announced and presented at the CIO Peer Forum® on May 3, 2023.

Nominations are to be completed by individual members.

This form is currently closed for submissions.