Winners of the 2017 Ingenious & CanadianCIO Awards Announced

November 10, 2017 

TORONTO, ON – The Information Technology Association of Canada (ITAC) is  proud to announce six winners of the 2017 Ingenious Awards and the two CanadianCIO of the Year award recipients honoured last night at the annual awards gala that recognizes excellence in the use of information and communications technology (ICT) by organizations in all walks of Canadian life to solve problems, improve performance, introduce new services and grow businesses.    The CanadianCIO of the Year award, in both the public and private sectors, recognizes overall excellence among Canada’s community of CIOs.
“Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Ingenious and CanadianCIO of the Year Awards. The impressive achievements ITAC has  honoured underscores the incredible innovation, diversity, and creativity of Canada’s ICT sector that now touches every level of business,” noted Robert Watson, President and CEO, ITAC.
Launched in 2011, the Ingenious Awards program invites nominations from across Canada’s ICT industry, from organizations in the six categories that have realized significant results through the innovative use of ICT.  ITAC is proud to partner with the CIO Association of Canada (CIOCAN) on both the Ingenious Awards Program and CanadianCIO of the Year Awards.  CIOCAN together with CanadianCIO Magazine partner to recognize individuals making extraordinary contributions to the evolution of technology in Canada in their capacity as CIO’s in both the public and private sector for the CanadianCIO of the Year Awards.
The accomplishments of the 2017 winners provided a glimpse into the power of ICT to connect community-based family physicians to specialist throughout the province, make emergency rooms more efficient, provide banks with a receipt-tracking platform, provide software-as-a-service to agencies and businesses to create their own interactive displays to the development of a platform to enable the secure flow of information for healthcare professionals from mobile devices.
The 2017 Ingenious Award Winners in six categories:

  • SME / Not-For-Profit:  OntarioMD – Provincial eConsult Initiative
  • Large Public: Cancer Care Ontario – eCTAS – electronic Canadian Triage and Acuity Scale
  • Ingenious Spark Category: Sensibill Inc – Receipt Management & Transaction Insights
  • Small Private Sector: Lumo Interactive – Lumo Play
  • Medium Private Sector: SOTI Inc – SOTI ONE Platform
  • Large Private Sector: PCL Constructors – PCL Project Analytics

The 2017 CanadianCIO of the Year Award Winners:

Many thanks to the CIO Association of Canada members who volunteered their time and expertise to review all submissions to the Ingenious Awards.